International Conference on Laser Ablation (COLA), Maui-Hawaii, USA, September 8-13, 2019

The International Conference on Laser Ablation (COLA) is the premier conference in the field of laser ablation and applications. Since 1991, COLA has been bringing together laser scientists, end-users and industry to review state-of-the-art and next-generation laser ablation technologies. COLA is an interdisciplinary conference and the topics cover a wide range of scientific research that bridges the gap between basic science and applications / technology.
The 15th COLA conference will be held in Maui-Hawaii, USA in September 8-13, 2019.

Important Dates
Abstract submission for oral presentations closes: 5 April 2019
Notification of acceptance: 23 May 2019
Preliminary program distribution: 31 May 2019
Early bird registration closes: 21 June 2019
Abstract submission for poster presentations closes: 21 June 2019
COLA 2019 Conference: 8-13 September 2019
Paper submission for publication: 30 September 2019

Conference Topics:

  • Fundamentals of Laser-Material Interactions
  • Emerging Applications of Laser Ablation
  • Ultrafast Phenomena
  • New Trends in Laser Process Development
  • Laser-Based Analytical Methods
  • Surface Micro/Nano structuring
  • Pulsed Laser Ablation and Deposition
  • Laser Diagnostics
  • Laser Ablation in Bulk Materials
  • Laser Ablation in Liquids
  • Laser Direct Write
  • 3D Printing
  • Smart Beam Shaping and Manipulation
  • Lasers for Biology and Life Sciences
  • Emerging Photon Sources and Applications
  • Lasers in Nanoscience

Conference Chairs
Vassilia ZORBA, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Craig ARNOLD, Princeton University, USA
Maria DINESCU, National Institute for Laser, Plasma and Radiation Physics, Romania

Organizing Committee
Richard RUSSO, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Costas GRIGOROPOULOS, University of California, Berkeley, USA
George CHAN, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Jose CHIRINOS, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Jhanis GONZALEZ, Applied Spectra Inc, USA
Xianglei MAO, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Dayana OROPEZA, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA

Advisory committee
Arnold C. B.: Princeton University, USA
Bauerle D.: Johannes Kepler Univ. Linz, Austria
Bityurin N.: Inst. Appl. Physics, Russia
Dinescu M.: INFLPR, Romania
Dubowski J. J.: Univ. Sherbrooke, Canada
Fogarassy E.: Univ Strasbourg, France
Fotakis C.: FORTH, Greece
Geohegan D.: Oak Ridge Natl. Lab., USA
Haglund R. F., Jr: Vanderbilt Univ., USA
Haro-Poniatowski E.: Univ. Autonoma Metropolitana Iztapalapa, México
Herman P. R.: Univ. Toronto, Canada
Hess W. P.: Pacific NW Natl. Lab., USA
Hong M.H.: Natl. Univ. Singapore
Husinsky W.: Tech. University of Wien, Austria
Krebs H. U.: Univ. Gottingen, Germany
Luk’yanchuk B.: Data Storage Institute, Singapore
Lunney J.G.: Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland, et al.

Steering committee
Amoruso S.: Univ. di Napoli Federico II & CNR-SPIN, Italy
Castillejo M.: Spanish National Research Council, Spain
Delaporte, P.: CNRS – Aix-Marseille University, France
Farsari M.: IESL-FORTH, Greece
Filipescu, M.: National Institute for Laser, Plasma and Radiation Physics, Romania
Gamaly E. G.: Australian National University, Australia
Grigoropoulos C.: University of California at Berkeley, USA
Guo C.: University of Rochester, USA
Lippert T.: Paul Scherrer Inst., Switzerland
Mendonça C.: University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Narazaki, A.: AIST, Japan
Orlando S.: CNR – ISM – Tito Scalo, Italy
Palla-Papavlu A.: INFLPR, Romania
Rode A.: Australian National University, Australia
Simpson C.: University of Auckland, New Zealand
Sugioka K.: RIKEN, Japan
Sun HongBo: Ultrafast Opto-Electronic Technologies, JILIN University, China
Suttmann O.: Laser Zentrum Hannover, Germany
Terakawa M.: Keio University, Japan
Uteza O.: LP3, CNRS – Aix-Marseille University, France
Zorba V.: Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA

More information can be obtained on the conference website: