2021 Nobel Prize in Physics


The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics “for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems” with one half jointly to Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann “for the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming” and the other half to Giorgio Parisi “for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales.”

press-physicsprize2021.pdf212.93 KB